Skip to content
Roberto Clemente

Cabrera, Judge among Roberto Clemente Award nominees

MLB announces 30 nominees for prestigious Roberto Clemente Award

Tigers star Miguel Cabrera and Yankees slugger Aaron Judge were among five former Most Valuable Players nominated for the prestigious Roberto Clemente Award.

The Roberto Clemente Award is considered the most prestigious off-the-field award in Major League Baseball because it honors players for their philanthropist efforts.

St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Paul Goldschmidt, Angels outfielder Mike Trout and Brewers outfielder Christian Yelich were the other former MVPs nominated for the Clemente Award.

Roberto Clemente died on Dec. 31, 1972. He was on a relief mission to help earthquake victims in Nicaragua. His cargo plane crashed into the ocean shortly after takeoff off the coast of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Clemente’s body was never found.

The award was renamed in Clemente’s honor in 1973, two years after MLB established the Commissioner’s Award to honor players’ philanthropy.

Roberto Clemente Award nominees

Justin Turner won the award last year with the Dodgers. Fans are allowed to vote on the award, which is sponsored by Capital One. Chris Taylor is the Dodgers’ nominee this year. 

Guardians star José Ramirez, Cubs ace Marcus Stroman, Kansas City Royals catcher Salvador Perez and Toronto Blue Jays star Vladimir Guerrero Jr. are among the biggest superstars nominated. 


Justin Turner share Clemente Award with his wife

Adam Wainwright wins Roberto Clemente Award

Roberto Clemente Jr. remembers dad’s final day

All 30 teams had Roberto Clemente Award nominees. Those players will be honored at their home stadiums on Sept. 15, which is Roberto Clemente Day. If they’re not playing at home, they’ll be honored before the first home game after Sept. 15. 

Astros shortstop Jeremy Peña, the 2022 ALCS and World Series MVP, was nominated for the first time. Former Astros shortstop Carlos Correa is the Twins’ nominee. Fellow Puerto Rican shortstop Francisco Lindor is the Mets’ nominee.

First-time All-Star Jorge Soler is the Marlins’ nominee. The Diamondbacks’ Nick Ahmed, Braves’ Matt Olson, Orioles’ Kyle Gibson, Red Sox’s Tanner Houck, White Sox’s Liam Hendriks and Reds Hunter Greene were also nominated.

The Rockies’ Kyle Freeland, Athletics’ Tony Kemp, Phillies’ Kyle Schwarber, Pirates’ David Bednar, Padres’ Tim Hill, Giants’ Brandon Crawford, Mariners’ Marco Gonzales, Rays’ Shane McClanahan, Rangers’ Jon Gray and Nationals’ Josiah Gray were the other nominees.

Stay in the Loop

Get the Our Esquina Email Newsletter

By submitting your email, you are agreeing to receive additional communications and exclusive content from Our Esquina. You can unsubscribe at any time.