Skip to content
Roberto Clemente

Jose Altuve nominated for Roberto Clemente Award

Altuve, Miguel Cabrera, Paul Goldschmidt among Clemente Award nominess

HOUSTON – Hours after Major League Baseball announced the 30 Roberto Clemente Award nominees, Jose Altuve was in the service of others. The 2017 American League MVP and Astros teammates Lance McCullers Jr. and Kyle Tucker were holding their “Team Up” charity event.

They were lending their names to benefit animal rescue efforts, hospice care and children’s charities in the Greater Houston community.

That event was an example why Altuve was the Astros’ nominee for the 2022 Roberto Clemente Award. The eight-time All-Star has been busy throughout the year giving back.

“The community has given a lot to us,” Altuve said. “As a player (because of all) the support that they give to us every night, this is the perfect opportunity to give back to them to help them. I’m just happy to be there.”

Altuve was one of the biggest names among the 30 Roberto Clemente Award nominees.

Two-time MVP Miguel Cabrera, a future Hall of Famer, was the Detroit Tigers’ nominee. NL MVP frontrunner Paul Goldschmidt was the St. Louis Cardinals’ nominee. 

Jose Altuve joined by several stars

Jose Altuve, Cabrera, and Goldschmidt were All-Stars this year. They have been nominated for the Roberto Clemente Award multiple times.

The White Sox’s Liam Hendriks, Reds superstar Joey Votto, and the Cubs’ Jason Heyward were among the biggest stars who have been nominated multiple times for the prestigious award.

The Dodgers’ Justin Turner, Brewers’ Brent Suter, Yankees’ Jose Trevino, Athletics’ Tony Kemp, Phillies’ Kyle Gibson, and Giants’ Brandon Crawford, Blue Jays’ Bo Bichette and Nationals’ Josh Bell also were among the players who have been nominated multiple times.

Our Esquina

Chris Olave highlights list of Latinos in NFL

MLB Players Association joins AFL-CIO

MLB Playoff Picture: Orioles bring chaos

“I hear the name Roberto Clemente and think of all he did not only on the field, but off the field,” Goldschmidt said. “His humanitarian efforts across the globe are inspirational. And I am honored to represent the St. Louis Cardinals as this year’s Roberto Clemente Award nominee.”

The Cardinals franchise have had more Roberto Clemente Award winners than any franchise. Their winners include a pair of Hall of Famers, the late Lou Brock (1975), and  Ozzie Smith (1995).

Adam Wainwright (2020), Yadier Molina (2018), Carlos Beltran (2013), Albert Pujols (2008) also won the award while playing for the Cardinals.

Adam Wainwright
Adam Wainwright poses with the 2020 Roberto Clemente Award.

Wainwright and Goldschmidt have worked together on several charitable efforts since Goldschmidt joined the Cardinals in 2018.

Goldschmidt praised for ‘extraordinary character’

 “Paul Goldschmidt is truly an athlete of extraordinary character both on and off the field,” said Michael Hall, the vice president of community relations and executive director of Cardinals Care. “We admire his far-reaching and numerous efforts to help people in need, and are proud to have him as a member of the Cardinals.”

The Diamondbacks’ Josh Rojas, Braves’ Tyler Matzek, Orioles’ Dillon Tate, Red Sox’s Jake Diekman, Guardians’ Triston McKenzie, Rockies’ Kyle Freeland, Royals’ Nicky López, Angels’ Jared Walsh were among the first-time nominees.

The Marlins’ Pablo López, Twins’ Byron Buxton, Mets’ James McCann, Pirates’ David Bednar, Padres’ Craig Stammen and Mariners’ Marco Gonzales, the Rays’ Brandon Lowe, Rangers’ Taylor Hearn were also first-time nominees. 

MLB has recognized players’ philanthropic efforts since the “Commissioner’s Award” was created in 1971. It was renamed in honor of the 15-time All-Star and member of the 3,000-hit club in 1973.

The so-called Great One died in a plane crash off the coast of San Juan, Puerto Rico on New Year’s Eve 1972. He boarded the cargo plane with relief supplies for earthquake victims in Nicaragua.

Clemente was selected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame without the normal five-year wait time in 1973.

Stay in the Loop

Get the Our Esquina Email Newsletter

By submitting your email, you are agreeing to receive additional communications and exclusive content from Our Esquina. You can unsubscribe at any time.